Derek Math, Science, And General Tutoring

Derek Math, Science, And General Tutoring

5.0 (1)
1 employee
5 years in business

About this pro

Hello Students and Parents of Students! My name is Derek J. DeRouen, and I have been tutoring in many different settings for about 2-3 years now. Being both a private and a 3-1 office-setting tutor, there are very few types of students I have not met. 

I went to college at UC Berkeley and graduated with a degree in Cognitive Science. I am currently pursuing another degree in Physics.

The joy I get when I can make something clear to a student, coupled with that "ah-ha" moment in his or her eyes is what makes me love this job.

Please feel free to contact me anytime, with any question, and ask me how I can help you with the subject in which you are concerned.

When the students end up teaching me :)

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Walnut Creek, CA 94595
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Sonia G.

    Derek is the "dream tutor", he is punctual, formal, personable, happy, all positive, personality wise. He tries to accommodate his schedule to my child, has extensive math knowledge and has been a great fit for my son. I highly recommend Derek as a tutor.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

For the first few lessons I like to first establish goals and concerns with the course. I tend to ask these types of questions:

Why did you seek out tutoring? Do you need help on homework? Or is it studying habits? Test taking strategies?

Do you need general advice on school or classes? 

I also really like to asses what type of student I am working with. Sometimes I have a student who I can tell needs me to tell him to get water, or take a stretch break. Sometime I have a student who understandts the concept but just needs the variable X be changed to an A because she doesn't like the letter X.

Then, once we are more settled, I tend to have a lesson plan built around goals and concerns of the student. I have done everything from make quizes to just do homework side by side.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

UC Berkeley B.A. in Cognitive Science, Emphasis in Cognitive Neurology; Emphasis in Society, Culture and Cognition.

In pursuite of a B.S. in Physics.

Math coursework up to Calculus 3 (college).

AP tests passed with a 4 or better in High School:

Physics; Calculus B.C.; Spanish Language; US history; US Gov; European History

I have been trained by a nationwide tutoring firm.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Negotiable


Lessons offered

Math Tutors ACT Math Tutors ACT Science Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Analytical Geometry Tutors AP Calculus Tutors AP Exam Prep Tutors AP Physics Tutors Basic Math Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Geometry Tutors