Personalized Tutoring By Kim

Personalized Tutoring By Kim

5.0 (1)
1 hire on Lessons.com
1 employee
27 years in business

About this pro

I have been working with children, youth, and young adults for a full 40 years-- since I was a 9 year old myself!  I treat every student and family as an individual and do not ever do "cookie cutter" lessons and so forth but have been so successful overall because I get to know each student's stengths, interests, and passions and use those to help them strengthen any areas they may have difficulty in or to help them really thrive. I have worked with almost every learning style and situation and with students and families from many different backgrounds. I am currently EEC certified as a Lead Teacher/Site Coordinator with infants through 8 year olds and also Director certified for school-age (K-8) our of school time. I have taught at and written curriculum for the Odyssey Day School, I founded and Directed the Arlington Regional Model United Nations & Civvic Engagement Clubs, and I taught at both Acera School and ISB, as well as founded and Directed the after school program for the 5th -8th grades in Arlington in 2006.  

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Arlington, MA 02476
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Jenna Wang

    Kim cares deeply about her students and makes a real effort to connect with her students, their siblings, and the family. She works hard to make learning fun for the kids and gives them access to many different learning tools. She is one of a kind!



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I typically offer a free "meet and discuss" session with parent and student. I am more and more often doing tutoring online, so either is an option. Once we have talked about a student and parents needs, unless there is an absolute academic emergency, my first step is generally to spend at least part of the first several sessions genuinely getting to know each other and in the process I learn a great deal about how to support and help the student. But as I mentioned before, each student/family is unique so nothing is always the way things happen. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a BA from Middlebury College and all-but-a-thesis of a masters in Child and Adolescent Development.  Additionally I have more coursework and continuing education hours in Education, Early Education, Child Development, Psychology, and Medical fields than anyone I know. I have been certified by Mindful Schools and buy so many programs over the years it would be impossible to list them. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My pricing varies based on a number of factors: how much travel time and preparation time will be involved, overall number of tutoring hours I am going to be paid for, and so forth. However,0 I also do try to maintain responsiveness and flexibility based on each individual family's financial reality. 


How did you get started teaching?

I started helping in the kindergarten and first grade classrooms as a 9 year old, and almost immediately was actually hired to read and do math games with some of the students outside of school 


Lessons offered

English Lessons ESL Classes ACT English Tutors ACT Tutoring ACT Reading Tutors ACT Test Prep Tutors American History Tutors American Literature Tutors American Government Tutors Anatomy Tutors AP English Tutors AP Government And Politics Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors College Admissions Coaches Creative Writing Tutors Elementary Math Tutors English Literature Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Ged Test Prep Tutors