Gale Academic Tutoring

Gale Academic Tutoring

5.0
1 employee
2 years in business

About this pro

I am a scholar and I have a Master's degree in Conflict Resolution - Social and Systemic Studies. My service stands out because I teach subjects about which I am passionate. My first major was music, in which I am an accomplished Jazz saxophonist and Upright bassist. I also play the Flute and Piano. My curriculum studies for my Bachelor's degree included Algebra, Philosophy, and Creative writing.

I enjoy tutoring because it gives me the opportunity to teach the specific subjects that I love on a one-on-one basis. Also, the student can experience immediate understanding as a result of direct learning whether it's towards an academic subject, or working with a musical instrument.

I started work as a private lesson instructor in September of 2000, at a private music academy in Weston, Florida, and worked teaching Flute, Clarinet, Saxophone, Piano, and Trombone until May 2005.  In June of 2005, when I moved to Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, I started private tutoring in academic subjects such as Algebra and Language.

I am a graduate of Antilles Military Academy, Jr. R.O.T.C in Trujillo Alto, Puerto Rico and have lived there for two years, 1967 to 1969. As a result, I read and speak Spanish with enough comprehension as I can translate from English to Spanish.

In 1997, I completed a Master's thesis entitled "Racial Stereotypes In The Workplace" as a partial condition for graduation from the School of Social and Systemic Studies. I received my Master's degree in 1997.

My novel, "Revenge by Blood" was published in 2012 by Dorrance/Rosedog Publishing Co.

Website:  www.Merger88.com 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Mesquite, TX 75150
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

My process is to make the student feel comfortable with me as some with whom they are not familiar; I explain to them what they can expect from me, as well as, what I expect from them.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

It is from my College and University education that I base my abilities to be a competent instructor and tutor.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My standard of pricing is $20 per 1/2 hour for musical instrument students; and $30 per hour for academic tutoring.


How did you get started teaching?

I answered an ad in September of 2000 for a Saxophone instructor, and was delighted to find that at the end of the year I was teaching Clarinet, Flute, Saxophone, and Trombone; in addition to the piano.


What types of students have you worked with?

I've worked with Middle and High School students at an after-school music academy.

I'v worked as a tutor to High School students and some adults in subjects such as algebra.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

The most recent was in 2005 when I last saw my student who was a tall middle school boy. The first time i saw him in 2000, he was so little, that his fingers could not reach the keys on the alto saxophone. I had to have him just play an open "C#", which is to just blow into the saxophone with no keys held down. I taught him for 5 years.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

My advise to a student looking to hire a teacher in my area is to consider the overall education and the dedication it takes for a teacher to consider private tutoring and teaching, as opposed to being a classroom teacher.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Students should think through the idea that they are willing to follow the instructions given in order to be successful.


Lessons offered

Algebra Tutors Basic Math Tutors Arithmetic Tutors Creative Writing Tutors Essay Writing Tutors Geography Tutors Math Tutors Philosophy Tutors Writing Tutors Reading Tutors