Generic Math Tutoring

Generic Math Tutoring

5.0
1 employee
3 years in business

About this pro

I used to tutor on the side in Calculus BC free of charge while in my first year of college - I enjoy helping others as well as learning from them.

I am currently a sophomore in Electrical Engineering and Applied Math at the University of Colorado Boulder. I am apart of the Engineering Honors Program at my University as well as a club known as WoAA - Women in Aeronautics and Aerospace. My highest experience with mathematics is calculus 2 and Differential Equations with linear algebra. I can help any student up to the level of Calculus 2/Calculus BC and AB.

In college I was implemented in a community based dorm. The setting provided gave everyone a chance to study with each other and learn from each other. While learning new material myself, I loved conversing with other students about my homework problems. I also tutored during this time taking an hour out of every other week to attend to this student. I love being attentive to the individuals who need my help. I personally believe that no one should give up on their studies just because they don't understand - that's a place I've been. That's a place most of my clients have been. I want to be able to bring individuals into a brighter place in mathematics and help them feel more confident in their skill.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Bellevue, WA 98006
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

If the student has homework or a test they would like to review, we will start by going over what they didn't understand or got wrong. I typically let my tutorees go through some practice problems or homework and stand by while they need help. If they are on a particular unit, I will browse through that unit and conduct a mini review session on the core concepts.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I am a sophomore in Electrical Engineering and Applied Math. I have tutored in Calculus BC before and have found that I am particularly strong tutoring in that area. I have taken a basic understanding of mathematics below Calculus 2. I'm currently working on higher order math such as Matrix Methods and Calculus 3, so I am confident in tutoring anything lower than Differential Equations with Linear Algebra.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

This is a client-tutor relationship. If the client is less likely to get help due to their financial situation, I'm more than happy to lower my prices and make an accomodation. I acknowledge that I am not a professor or a teacher - the student has the right to pay for what they're getting. I base my pricing off of an hourly rate. However, as I mentioned before pricing is very flexible with me and I am not set on a specific price. I will adjust according to my client's needs.


How did you get started teaching?

I started tutoring in Calculus BC and absolutely loved it!

I had a friend who was a senior in high school with a background of advanced precalculus before going into Calculus BC. She told me she was going to drop out because of her first test grade turning out poorly. I was appalled at the idea of her dropping out and offered my tutoring services free of charge in the hopes that she would stick with it. We met every time she had a test which came roughly to twice a month. She ended up with a high grade in the class and that in itself was highly rewarding for the both of us.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with high shool students in high school level math classes. I am more than happy to work with students who are not in high school.


Lessons offered


Nearby Math Tutors