Margaret Scheffs

Margaret Scheffs

5.0
1 hire on Lessons.com
36 years in business

About this pro

Hello Friends,

Throughout my adult life, I have always found languages and teaching exciting and rewarding. In college, I tutored French.  In France, I tutored English. The acquisition of languages came naturally to me and I found that I had not only a natural aptitude but also many ideas for stimulating conversation which allowed me to engage and practice both English and French with my students of varoius age groups.

I was born in Poland and raised in Switzerland where I learned German and began French. Today, I consider myself American and a New Yorker.  I hold a Masters degree from New York University in French Studies and a TESOL Certificate fom Hunter College, CUNY, New York.  I am a highly energetic and creative person and I enjoy teaching and tutoring French and English.  

I have experience working with teenagers in helping them prepare for their French Regents.

I enjoy words and I enjoy grammar. I enjoy literature and poetry.  I enjoy good writing and the clear expression of ideas. I enjoy meeting and getting to know new people from all parts of the world and I enjoy sharing my knowledge of English and French. I strive to inspire students to learn grammar and vocabulary and in this way give them the tools to use their English and French with greater ease and accuracy.  Through lively conversation, I enjoy engaging students to practice their language using good grammar and their ever expanding vocabulary.  I mostly enjoy my students' progress!

 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Long Island City, NY 11101
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Hello Friends,

I usually begin by having a conversation with the student and find out about them, what they like and what makes them happy.  I also like to find out how long they have been studying English, or French, and for what purpose. I listen for content vocabulary, grammar and pronunciation and I think about and imagine how to best structure lessons for best results.  If the student is new to the language, I begin with 'survival’ conversation, idioms and most useful, immediate phrases.  If the student needs vocabulary and language for academic work or to work in a particular profession, I tailor my lessons and vocabulary.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

In addition to my life long experience in tutoring, I hold a Certificate in Teaching English as a Second Language (TESOL) from Hunter College, C.U.N.Y., New York. I also help students with pronunciation and accent reduction.

I am a highly creative person with a lot of imagination. In college I majored in Political Science and French and I hold a  MA in French Studies from New York University.  I studied Literature, Linguistics and Cultural Studies in France. I also studied at Parson's School of Design in New York and ran a luxury, custom baby bedding business for over 30 years. I never stopped learning and I continue to enjoy meeting and helping people with their languages.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My fee for private lessons is $30.- per hour.