Vlaska Studios

Vlaska Studios

5.0 (4)
1 hire on Lessons.com
1 years in business

About this pro

Hi, I have over 23 years of experience, I earned my B.A. degree in piano teaching in Russia. I write individual programs for each student, based on his/her natural talent, learning abilities, and goals. I work both with kids and adults, from beginner to professional level. I also teach children with special needs like ADHD and Autism. I teach in both English and Russian.

Days & Hours:

Thursday - 9am to 5:45pm

Friday - 9am to 3:15pm

Saturday - 10am to 3:15pm

My goal is to help kids experience success, help them grow, and feel confident. We celebrate even a slight improvement in skill. It's so fulfilling to see a child smile and it makes my day, as it brings me strength and satisfaction in knowing that what I am doing is right!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Houston, TX 77008
Email verified
Phone verified

4 Reviews

5.0

  • Matt Day

    I have always wanted to learn piano, but I was nervous to start in my mid 20s with no music background. Anastasia has been a wonderful teacher, and always pushes me to do my very best. She has high expectations, but is very supportive and takes the time to break things down for me when I struggle. I enjoy every lesson and can't wait to develop further.

  • Gloria Wilson

    My teacher is tailoring the piano lessons to meet my expectations with consideration of my present abilities.

  • Alejandra Flores

    Anastasia is very knowledgeable, location is great, provides music sheets, and it’s great to work with. I have a very busy work schedule and I really appreciate her flexibility to adjust our usual class times and dates when I have a last minute work meeting to attend. I don’t have much time to practice and going to classes makes me study at least one or twice before our class. I have been attending her classes for two months and I can already read simple music!! Thank you!

  • Natalya Brooks

    Our son has been taking piano lessons with Anastasia for a little over a year, and we have been very happy with his progress. Anastasia is knowledgeable and engaging, and I have been impressed by her ability to find the best approach for her students and keep them motivated. Our son looks forward to his weekly sessions!



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

For kids, I let them first get adapted to the new atmosphere for a few moments, then we start our first class. I see how the student reacts, and taking these observations into account I continue. So, each individual child has his/her own program. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I was trained in classic piano performance from the age of 6. My training continued through pedagogical college and the Tagandrog Institute in Southwest Russia. I have degrees in both piano performance and theory, and Child Education.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

We ask our students to commit for at least a year of tuition, with a 2 month summer vacation time (July and August). We accept monthly payment by Venmo, Bank transfer, Check or Cash. 

KIDS: $100.00/month___    ADULTS: $150/month___
Class duration and frequency:
KIDS: 30 minute one-on-one class, once per week
ADULTS: 45 minute one-on-one class, once per week

(A 30-day cancellation notice is requested)

Classes: if a student has to cancel class for any reason, or if the class falls on a holiday, if possible the class will be made up (rescheduled), with a 5 Make-Up Lesson maximum per year. Otherwise, it will be dropped. All classes are in the Vlaska Studio location.

In-home classes add $100 to the monthly payment (10 mile travel distance maximum)


How did you get started teaching?

I began teaching as part of my educational training and externing. Then, I continued independently, both in Russia and the States.


What types of students have you worked with?

I've worked with many adults interested in learning a new skill or resuming a childhood pursuit! I've worked with students from the ripe age of 5 up to adults. I also work with students with learning challenges and special needs (ADHD, autism, etc.)


Lessons offered