Private Lessons

Private Lessons

5.0
1 hire on Lessons.com
10 years in business

About this pro

My passion is to give anyone interested in horses and riding, who is no heavier than 165 pounds (that keeps a horse happy and healthy), the many positive experiences and emotions to be had, whether for one visit or more. Age is not a factor, and I've taught ages 3-1/2 to 74. I also had an Asperger's boy that benefited greatly from riding. All lessons are private for maximum benefit. I offer English and Western pony-rides and lessons, year-round, in either or both, the enclosed, indoor arena, or the covered, larger, outdoor arena. I have been riding for 50+ years, and owning for 25+ years. I have been teaching for 7+ years, and include all aspects of Horsemanship--from how to approach a horse, to grooming and tacking up, riding, and putting away. I am very easy-going, patient, kind, and entertaining, if I do say so myself. I do what I love, and love what I do.

And I have many great reviews; I'm new to this site, so you can find me on Thumbtack.

I enjoy EVERYTHING about the work I do--especially seeing the huge smiles on my riders' faces, regardless of age. It's the best job ever.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Hillsboro, OR 97123
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


Photos & Videos


FAQs


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

Lessons at ages 9 and 24-28, riding periodically via rentals, friends' horses; had my first at 29, rode a 25-mile endurance on her, and lots of trails; my second at 40, trails, gaming, and some jumping; my current at 52, doing it all, including team-penning--here's an example:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YHRyQbcwjJk


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Weekly $55

Every-other week $65

Once, or once/month $75


How did you get started teaching?

I was done with the corporate world, and wanted to bring others into The Wonderful World of Horses and Riding.


What types of students have you worked with?

Beginner through advanced.

Both sexes.

Ages 3-1/2 through 73 (My only caveat is rider-weight of 135 maximum.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

One of my young students advancing to the canter--it's always a 'big' event.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Make sure he/she matches/agrees to your goals. I have no ego--I provide what the rider needs to achieve their goal; it's not about me. Firstly, it's about the horse.


Lessons offered