Heidi Divis Piano Lessons

Heidi Divis Piano Lessons

5.0 (1)
9 years in business

About this pro

linkedin.com/in/heidi-divis-3283b389

Before students can learn the classical pieces, they need to enjoy the instrument. My favorite thing to do as a teacher is to teach beginners that playing the piano is fun. In my mind, that includes theory and technique.

I was taught piano in such a way that led me to teach. When I was 16 years old I had my first student. My teacher gave me tips and let me come over and observe her lessons. this was a great learning experience. When I attended BYU-Idaho, I took two piano pedagogy courses as part of my music minor. During both of these semesters, I taught private and group lessons. I have personally been teaching for over 5 years.

Although I am not a concert pianist by any means, I have a lot of experience teaching and I know my theory. I am passionate about teaching my students to love the piano as I do.

You know what I love about piano? It allows me to let out what's inside when words don't work. This is what I want to give to others. A new form of expression. Because I have connected to music in this way, it creates new meaning to the music I hear. Why are sad songs sad? happy? What was the composer feeling? I love connecting to people with this beautiful language.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Salt Lake City, UT 84120
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Courtney Bell

    Heidi taught my daughter piano for a numbers of years. She was always very professional and kind. Heidi is very knowledgeable and is great with kids. She is very punctual and is great with communicating with parents and students. I highly recommend her. She is a great choice.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I like to use the Piano Adventure series by Faber and Faber. When I start with a new student, it depends on how much they know already. I usually start brand new piano students about 12 and under in the Primer level. I have the Piano Adventure books for adult beginners I like to use with older students.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a music minor. I took theory/musicianship courses, private classical guitar lessons, chorus ensembles, and piano pedagogy courses. On top of this, I have experience teaching for over 5 years. I started out under my own teacher. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge tuition per month. Four half-hour lessons a month costs $98 due at the first lesson of the month. A discount can be applied if 2 weeks notice is given before a cancelled lesson.


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with beginning and intermediate students. I have had students as young as 6 and as old as 16. I prefer beginners but do not have a preference for age.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Shop around. Don't feel like you have to go to the first teacher you talk to. You should be able to have a trial lesson/interview in person before making a decision. 


Lessons offered

Piano Lessons Basic Math Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Math Tutors Pre Algebra Tutors Pre Calculus Tutors Algebra Tutors