Sandra Stott-Benavides' Piano/Voice/Spanish Lessons

Sandra Stott-Benavides' Piano/Voice/Spanish Lessons

5.0 (3)
3 hires on Lessons.com
1 employee

About this pro

Hi! I have worked as an educator and tutor for 30 years. I taught overseas in Bogota, Colombia for 14.5 years, as a first-grade teacher and then music and high school chorus. I became fluent in Spanish over those many years. At the time, I was married to a Colombian, and had two sons who were raised to be bi-lingual.  Upon returning to the USA, I taught public school music for the past 16 years, and utilized my Spanish skills to assist in translations, and be an interpreter. I have also tutored high school students in Intermediate level Spanish. 

I have a Bachelor's degree in Applied Music-Piano & Voice, and have taught private piano off and on throughout the last 30 years. I also am the music minister, choral director and accompanist at a local church.

Helping another person achieve their learning goals gives me  a lot of joy.  It is such a reward when I see the light of inspiration and understanding in the eyes of my students.  I especially enjoy working individually with students to get to know them better. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Durham, NC 27713
Email verified
Phone verified

3 Reviews

5.0

  • Tostanoski Family

    Sandra is a very talented pianist, who plays for our church, and our older son, Edward, began piano lessons with her at the young age of 5, and she was able to adapt to his interests and energy level for his enjoyment of beginning piano lessons. We highly recommend Sandra for her professionalism and flexibility in working individually with our son.

  • Dr. Peter H

    EXCELLENT

  • Mary Kay Tripodi

    I came back to piano after 35 years of not playing. Sandra was willing to work at my place,and soon had me playing beyond the level I had attained in my youth. She chose challenging and entertaining sheet music fore to learn.



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

1. Arrange an initial interview to meet each other, discuss learning goals, and answer any initial questions to see if we are a good match. This is free of charge, usually, depending on distance. 

2. Schedule first month of lessons, to set aside the time in our schedules for successful learning. Determine location. 

3. Determine the books and resources to be used. Students can provide materials that they are interested in using. I will suggest certain materials to be purchased by the student.  I request that each student have a notebook to use for notes and practice record. 

4. Get to know you as we work together, and adapt lessons and materials as needed. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a Bachelor's degree in Applied Music, magna cum laude, from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. I studied piano and voice, and have an unofficial minor in psychology. 

I have a professional teaching license with the state of North Carolina as a  music educator.

I am also certified in English as a Second Language, and am currently studying to take the Praxis exams for World Languages in Spanish.

I am certified in Levels 1A & 1B in Suzuki Piano.

I am certified in Level 1 of Orff Schulwerk music teaching philosophy. 

I currently am Music Minister, choral director and accompanist for a local church. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

My rate is usually $55/hour lesson, and $35/half hour.

Multiple siblings taking lessons will receive a discount. 

I am willing  to work with families according to their need. 

Cancellations need to be made 12 hours in advance. Last-minute cancellations will be charged, unless it is due to unavoidable circumstances or family emergency. 

No shows will be charged. 


How did you get started teaching?

I began teaching piano when I was still a university student to a few younger students. When I was living overseas, I  began teaching in a bi-lingual school where my sons would attend. I come from a family of many teachers over several generations, so teaching comes naturally to me.  


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with many students in a classroom setting and individually. The ages range from 5 years old up to 70 years old! I love life-long learners, like myself! 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

I suggest that you interview with several teachers to find someone who you feel that your personalities will work together. 

Check their experience and qualifications. 


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Do you have time to focus on learning and studying outside of the lesson time in order to have more success?

How determined and committed are you to achieving your goals?

Why do you want to study piano, or voice or Spanish?