Dillon's Piano & Tutoring

Dillon's Piano & Tutoring

4.7 (7)
1 hire on Lessons.com
1 employee

About this pro

Hello there. My name is Dillon H. I tutored throughout my college career (all four years) at a local school and it remains the best job I've ever had- and so, I'd like to do it more. I am a Mensa member. I have an IQ of 140 and a eidetic memory, and I was always "the brilliant but lazy" student in school. I'd like to think this makes me qualified to motivate students of similar prerogative to become brilliant but hardworking. I've taken 14+ years of piano (always enjoyed composing more than practicing my teacher's homework), was nominated to be tutor of the year at my college's tutoring program (and more importantly was my school's favorite tutor), and am at the end of the day, just someone who loves helping people who realize that a desire to learn is the most important quality to attain in life- or help them realize it. Thanks for reading! Looking forward to meeting you. -Dillon

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Ozone Park, NY 11417
Email verified
Phone verified

7 Reviews

4.7

  • N. Coombs

    Dillon is a very personable and patient teacher. I look forward to more lessons with him.

  • Manoj Bhoyar

    He is a very good and professional teacher. My kid is doing well under his teaching.

  • Krisztina Juhasz

    Dillon is an excellent, patient and knowledgeable piano teacher. He has been teaching my now five-year-old daughter, along with two of her five-year-old friends for over a year. We take individual private 30-minute and sometimes 1-hour lessons in our home. He is very accommodating with his schedule and is always reliable and on time. Dillon is able to focus my daughter's attention in a way that does not come across as harsh. She is easily distracted but he gets her attention back to the piano very quickly but gently - not an easy task to do with a five-year-old. She is learning piano theory along with learning to play the piano. Dillon took time to speak to me and made recommendations about the type of keyboard we should purchase even before we hired him. We are thankful that we found him and plan to continue to take weekly lessons and highly recommend him!

  • Prakash

    Dillon is patient and persistent in teaching my kid. He is always punctual and is accommodating. My son has learnt so much so quickly from him. He is a great teacher.


Show all reviews

FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

Having a initial lesson to see for myself what's needed, then going from there to form a lesson plan and session structure, ect.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

As it says all over my profile, 13+ years taking private piano lessons myself, was in AT/AP math and reading classes all my life, an education culminating in a bachelor's with honors in broadcast journalism, and many years both public and private tutoring, all age groups.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Pretty simple, $35 for a half-hour lesson, $45 for a full hour. Will take off $5 for back-to-back family lessons, e.g. 2 brothers taking half-hour lessons one after the other would be $30x2.


How did you get started teaching?

Needed a job in college, got an email about America Reads/America counts. I thought, "I love kids. I love teaching. I need a job." Then I kept doing it, and now I couldn't see myself doing any other job. Especially in college. Would've had to work in food service or something.


What types of students have you worked with?

All kinds. Adults, kids of all age ranges, extended families, special needs, inner-city middle schools, ESL... you name it.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I won't bore you with my recent jobs, but when tutoring in college I tutored this sassy little girl who was always ecstatic to see me ("Dillon!!!") and, in time, as eager to learn as could be. It was the first time I had someone looking up to me since my little brother, and it felt really good.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Don't fall prey to age discrimination. A lot of people out there think that if a private tutor doesn't have a grey beard they're not worth their salt, which is a shame. Keep an open mind and watch the tutor in action before making your judgements.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Is the tutor a good fit? Will the learning be enjoyable? What do I hope to achieve? Am I ready for this commitment? Will I allot enough time to practice or study in between lessons?