Casey Hopkins Guitar

Casey Hopkins Guitar

5.0
1 employee
9 years in business

About this pro

Providing high-quality guitar lessons in the Brooklyn/NYC.  Classes available in music production.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Brooklyn, NY 11221
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

First, I assess skills, likes/dislikes and goals.  I try to pin-point areas of weakness and try to formulate a plan to improve a student's playing through playing and custom-tuned drills.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have been playing guitar for almost two decades now (more years than I haven't!) and from a young age I show an acuity for the guitar.  I have dedicated my life to being a guitar player/songwriter in the best veins of American music and have a deep respect for the history of music and musicianship.


How did you get started teaching?

Well---I was good at guitar, I'm personable and hyper-focused on the instrument so eventually people wanted to pay me to learn how to do it. 


What types of students have you worked with?

Kids as young as 8 up to middle-age adults.  My preference is for young adults or teens who are serious about getting better at the instrument.  A passion to learn is the most important thing for a new player.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.

I got picked up to write for Reverb.com and I started private selling guitars in addition to teaching!


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Hire a teacher who can play! There are so many "guitar teachers" out there.  Actually take time to find someone who's intensly studied the instrument from a young age.  I'm obsessed and guitar dominates every aspect of my life from playing to teaching to selling.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

Am I serious about this? What are my goals? Am I willing to consistently dedicate an hour a week, 4 times a month to lessons and 15-30 minutes of daily or bi-daily PRACTICE time (at a bare minimum) to get to where I want to go?