McKenna Michels Piano And Voice

McKenna Michels Piano And Voice

5.0 (1)
3 hires on Lessons.com
2 years in business

About this pro

I am a 20 year old business student at the University of Texas at Austin. I have been playing piano for 12 years and have experience teaching children and beginner-intermediate adults. I was an Opera singer for 4 years and performed at the Kennedy Center with the Washington National Opera in 2017. I am now a singer/songwriter in Austin, TX, and specialize in Pop vocals. I have performed at many local venues and was the resident pianist at the Mozart's Festival of Lights from November 20th- January 5th. I look forward to teaching you and helping you achieve your goals!

I love watching people grow and have passion for their successes. I also love reminding people that it's okay to fail as long as you try your very best. This is what I was taught and it's amazing to see how it impacts people. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Austin, TX 78705
Email verified
Phone verified

1 Review

5.0

  • Moe And C. From Austin,Tx

    McKenna is an excellent piano teacher. I was afraid to try and had absolutely no knowledge on how and where to start. She started working with me and my nephew and taught us the basics and the fundamentals and now I enjoy playing the piano and it’s my favorite hobby. Thank you McKenna for the time and the hard work you put to teach us.



Photos & Videos


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I will first ask the student's level of experience, ask them to show me a bit of what they can do, then sit down and evaluate their goals. We'll make a schedule and steps to help them achieve those goals.


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I was formally trained in Opera for 4 years in Dallas, TX. I am currently being trained in Pop vocals and have been for the past 2 years. I taught myself Piano when I was young, but followed piano books and consulted with teachers as I got older. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

The pricing is based on the individual student and their needs. I will consult with them or their parents to determine the rate. My average rate is between $20-$40/hr.


How did you get started teaching?

I have been a babysitter since I was 11. One of the people I babysat for had a piano and I used to play it for their kids. They mentioned I should teach and eventually, after performing live for a few years, received enough requests that I decided I should. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked mostly with kids 4-13, but have also taught a few college-age students. 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Make sure the person is the right fit for you. Do video calls or in person meetings to make sure you have the proper student-teacher "chemistry." Just because someone is experienced doesn't mean they are the right person to teach you!


Lessons offered

Piano Lessons Opera Voice Lessons Singing Lessons Songwriting Classes Voice Lessons Drawing Lessons Cartooning Classes Chess Classes & Teachers Music Teachers Grammar Lessons Vocabulary Tutors Writing Tutors Geography Tutors Essay Writing Tutors English Literature Tutors Makeup Classes American History Tutors American Literature Tutors Elementary Math Tutors History Tutors